RSS
Aside
26 Mar

I have noticed that this nation may have begun to go into a moral decline; however, this does not stop parents from wanting to protect their children. While many have noticed that children’s fashion has gotten more racy as time has gone by but there is no greater culprit than…

The hoop earring.

You read that correctly; the hoop earring. There is nothing more menacing, more scandalous than the sight of a child wearing such an adult article of clothing: in fact, using two search engines, the author found more photos of adults wearing hoop earrings than children (after searching child/girl wearing hoop earrings.) This is something that I have encountered not only in person, but in the media as well (via “Everybody hates Chris.”)

As a former sheltered child, this causes me to mentally tell them, who hath beguiled you? I wore hoop earrings throughout my childhood, and I can assure you that the little attraction that I was able to foster was not due to my “incessant use of hoop earrings” I could wear the hugest hoops that my ears could carry, or the smallest that my ears could condone, and still, not a single soul would hit on me.

you know who would get hit on?

The girls who wore (girl) shorts.

The girls who wore bathing suits.

The girls who could show cleavage.

The girls who could wear spaghetti strapped shirts to school.

The girls who wore clothing that showed their body shape (whether they were “shapely” or not)

And more importantly

The girls who were not described as “not allowed to do anything”

Now, I understand that most people (I would hope) are looking to raise virtuous young women from their darling little girls, as well as teach them that appearance is not everything (e.g. 1 Peter 3:1-6). But at the same time, thinking that you are doing a favor by causing them to abstain from hoop earrings is like telling me (at thirteen) that I can’t wear a head band because it makes me look like I am trying to look like I am trying to get a predator on my tail. This is one of the sadder traditions that I have had the pleasure of dealing with. there are better things that we could do to protect female children other than putting them in a figurative (or litteral chastity belt)

Details at 11.

Society and Earrings

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 26, 2014 in Life stuffs

 

Leave a Reply

 
